Definitions: Dating vs. Seeing Someone

Due to boredom and to fill up my time since I’m currently not working at the moment and tending to laundry doesn’t take up my whole day, I am going to now obsess over some definitions since dating is so new to me and I honestly hate it. Marriage is so much more secure and I really miss that. SECURITY! Financially and emotionally!

Photo by Nothing Ahead on Pexels.com

Dating

Dating” means you’re going on dates. You are actively getting out there and meeting people and spending time with them. “Dating someone” means you’re seeing somebody specific, with purpose and on a regular basis. … You’re spending time with a person (or persons) in hopes of finding a committed relationship.

Ok, so by definition, I am not dating because I’m not going on dates and I’m not so much actively getting out there to meet people and spend time with them. Ok, maybe I am dating someone because I do see Noodle Arms on a regular basis but is there a purpose? I have a purpose of working towards something.

Seeing Someone

Seeing someone. This term is used to state that you are unavailable to anyone else due to a commitment to another that may or may not be serious. The main issue is that you are focused on another relationship right now. It can refer to both a sexually intimate relationship, or just a dating relationship.

Hmmmm am I unavailable to anyone else due to a commitment? I don’t think so. I am confused. Is anyone else confused by this? Are there other terms for me to randomly look up?

Hooking Up

Although there are various definitions used in the hooking up literature, generally researchers agree that hooking up involves casual sexual behaviors ranging from kissing to intercourse with a partner in which there is no current relationship commitment and no expected future relationship commitment.

Now we are going into that FWB territory. What does everyone think? I don’t want definitions of anything. We are still in a pandemic here and nobody’s getting married here. What’s the point?

OH! Here’s another topic. Do people who are dating/seeing someone/hooking up get laid more than married couples? Is the #1 thing that breaks up marriages and relationships when sex stops? Why is it always about sex?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started