Unconditional Love

I was listening to an audiobook and there was one part that talked about, unconditional love. What the heck is that? Google says, “Unconditional love, simply put, is love without strings attached. It’s love you offer freely. You don’t base it on what someone does for you in return. You simply love them and want nothing more than their happiness.”

I know for sure that I have experienced unconditional love with my rabbits. They could do no wrong and I just wanted them to have a good, happy life. Well, what does it mean when it comes to a romantic relationship? What I have been hearing and have also experienced myself is the constant list of expectations and conditions one has for their partners.

Oh yes, back to the book, I am going to say that the author’s girlfriend loves him unconditionally when he asked her why she loved him. She just said it was a feeling. It bothered him a bit but now he understands. Well, I am going to say that it is so important to listen to your feelings vs. all that white noise out there.

Especially during dating, it is always about what he or she will do for me. Is this so you can tell your friends that your date or new lover has done this for you and done that for you? The validation part of it vs. how that person just makes you feel so loved and safe.

Are my friendships unconditional? I’m going to say with my closest friends, we definitely have each other’s backs and don’t act petty at all. We don’t have the huge expectations of anything, but when one needs us, we are there, no questions asked.

The more I observe my friends dating and their obstacles they have in their relationships, I now see that the struggles with oneself and adding another person’s experiences of the past into the mix can become toxic and difficult. Now, I’m just thinking or maybe even believing that most relationships are built on co-dependency in addition to societal pressures rather than being okay being single.

I’m going to think of all the conditions that people have that I have observed, including myself, in terms of the long list of, “must-haves” in a relationship or a partner and go from there. Also, have I been watching too much, Sex and the City? Don’t worry, I have sprinkled in some 90 Day Fiancé – Tell All for good measure!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started